It’s Been 8 Years…

The paleo challenge has come to an end, and I couldn’t be more excited about my results. I feel absolutely amazing, and I have lost 14 pounds in just over 5 weeks. My energy levels are great, I feel strong, and have really been progressing in my workouts. Perfect timing before the open.

It has been 8 years since I have weighed under 200 pounds. This has always been a goal of mine over the last several years, and this challenge finally gave me the motivation I needed to make it happen. The number wasn’t necessarily what bugged me, but the unhealthy lifestyle I was living that kept me at this weight is what I really needed to straighten out. The weight loss is just an awesome bonus to cutting out all of the crap.

GOALS

Let’s review the goals I set out at the beginning of this challenge:

– Feel better – Absolutely achieved this
– Lose weight – Nailed it!
– Get stronger – Definitely feel stronger
– Become more fit overall – Improved my Fight Gone Bad score by 43 reps, so yup!
– Zero cheats – Wooo winning!
– Win the challenge – Jury is out on this one still. Regardless, I win based on how I feel
– Don’t die or snap and devour a pile of cake, booze, and ice cream.  I was close a few times, but made it through!

For progress pictures throughout the challenge, look here.

IMPACT

Throughout this challenge, pretty much every one of my co-workers and friends found out that I was doing this “crazy” paleo/primal challenge. A lot of people thought I was nuts for taking on this challenge, but over time I think I had a positive impact on those around me.

No booze, sweets, or pizza?! Da-f*ck is wrong with you?

Some people asked me questions about how they should eat. Some would commend me on my efforts and complimented me on my weight loss. Others have even told me that they have been somewhat motivated to try out a healthier lifestyle. I think that is absolutely awesome, and I encourage anyone who reads this to reach out to me with any questions they have.

WHAT NOW?

I still plan on eating primal about 80% of the time, but every once in a while, I am definitely going to enjoy some beer and cake. I’d like to feel as good as I do now for the rest of my life, and having a fairly clean diet will keep me on track to do that.

Also, I plan on posting some more recipes on this site. I got pretty creative with some of my meals, so would love to share with everyone.

Leave a Reply

